Fined for Handicapped Parking

Noticed at the park yesterday, a handicapped parking sign for a parking spot (I was stretching in front of it, no I didn’t park there.) In the smaller print, it said “Fine $50 – $200”. You’ve probably seen these around as well, and I know I’ve seen them for years.  

But then I thought… What determines whether the fine is on the $50 or the $200 end of the spectrum? Should I be glad or upset if I get a $50 fine? Imagining the cop’s train of thought: “Yeah, this guy is in violation, but since he seems a bit mentally handicapped I’ll just give him the minimum fine.”

And what the heck are you to think if you got off with a warning?

Leave a Reply

